The website dedicated to women's football across the country, at ALL levels of the game

About Us…


News Archive

Get the mag!

Unbeaten run takes Dunstable to title

AFC Dunstable ladies took the Eastern Region League Division One North title, losing just two games all season including one that was after their Championship winning game at Newmarket Town.

They lost their first league game of the season, 4-2 at St Ives Town but never looked back after that. Two important wins and a draw against title rivals and eventual runners-up Biggleswade United at the end of the season were key factors in winning the league. The title was clinched in their penultimate match with a 4-2 win away to Newmarket and their 16-match unbeaten run finally came to an end in the last game, against Wootton Blue Cross.  

Coaches Slah Khechini and Michael Francis gave a lot of direction with captain Jodi McClelland, along with experienced Mollie Burgess and Darcy Collins at the heart of the midfield giving steel to the team in the middle of the pitch. Players’ Player of the Year was goalkeeper Kez Hassall and Managers’ player was Daisy Robb.

Top scorer Gemma Whitchurch had a magnificent season, scoring 31 goals in just 19 appearances after her return to the team.

Sally Collins, who has led the ladies section for many years, deserves praise for growing the ladies side of the club and also being instrumental in bringing in more girls teams.

AFC Dunstable squad:

Kez Hassall, Rebecca Devereux, Charly Smith, Ellie Jennings-Brown, Lola Cook, Emily Rowley, Daisy Robb, Darcy Collins, Jodi McClelland, Olivia West, Mollie Burgess, Brittany Holdsworth, Emily Rawlinson, Georgia Zeolla, Eleanor-Rose Rothwell, Millie Rhodes, Mollie Knox, Gemma Whitchurch, Rianne Townsend-Brown, Ruby Hogan, Poppy Whitburn, Ellie Bilton.