The website dedicated to women's football across the country, at ALL levels of the game

About Us…


News Archive

Get the mag!

Scottish Gas Scottish Cup semi final draw

The line ups for the Scottish Gas Men's Scottish Cup and the Scottish Gas Women's Scottish Cup semi finals were confirmed on Monday evening, with legendary Scotland goalkeeper Jim Leighton conducting the draws.

In the women's edition, Celtic and Rangers were drawn together in a repeat of last year's final - which attracted a crowd of over 10,000.

Hearts and Spartans were paired together in an all-Edinburgh clash in the other Semi Final.

Speaking after the draw, Leighton said: "In the women's competition, Celtic against Rangers will be an exciting match and an all-Edinburgh tie with Spartans and Hearts as well."

Scottish Gas Women's Scottish Cup Semi Final Draw

Rangers v Celtic

Spartans v Hearts

Spartans were the first women's side to secure their passage to Hampden as Becky Galbraith's hat-trick set them on their way to a 5-0 win over Livingston at the Tony Macaroni Arena.

Her treble had Spartans 3-0 in front and Hannah Jordan and Alana Marshall wrapped up the win to send the Spartans through to the Semi Finals.

Last year's runners-up Rangers Women were also in action on Sunday lunchtime against Hibs at the Meadowbank Stadium and although they led twice through Mia McAuley and Lizzie Arnot, they were twice pegged back by the hosts, with Poppy Lawson and Shannon McGregor on the scoresheet.

But SWPL1 leaders Rangers' class told in the second half, as goals from Sarah Ewens, Jane Ross and a double from Rio Hardy saw them to a 6-2 victory.

Hearts Women's match with Partick Thistle was a much tighter affair until Lizzie Waldie's late header settled a tight contest and sealed a 1-0 win for the visitors.

Celtic Women were the fourth and final side to secure their place in the last four as they defeated Montrose 6-0 in the day's late kick off. Kit Loferski grabbed an early brace, and Jenny Smith, Shen Menyu, Caitlin Hayes and Murphy Agnew were all on target as last year's winners secured a big win.


Back to home page