The website dedicated to women's football across the country, at ALL levels of the game

About Us…


News Archive

Get the mag!

Larkspur Rovers lift the cup

Larkspur Rovers 2 Wallingford & Crowmarsh 0  

The second match of the Thames Valley Counties League Finals Day pitted the runners-up of Divisions One and Two against each other.

Division One Larkspur finished some way behind the outstanding Tilehurst Panthers whilst Wallingford and Crowmarsh were narrowly edged out by Barton United in Division Two. With the League Cup at stake, the teams treated a crowd of over 200 to a well fought contest at the Arbour Park Stadium.


Given the difference in status it was to Wallingford's credit that they more than held their own for the first 35 minutes. However, two moments of quality within two minutes of each other gave Larkspur a lead which they rarely looked like losing despite some good attacking play from the lower ranked team.


The first goal came from a free kick wide on the left which was lofted in perfectly off the far post by Polina Avramova on 33 minutes. Kalina Georgieva added the second with a powerful run through the defence on 35 minutes and a cool finish low past Nat McCowan, who performed admirably despite not being a goalkeeper normally.


With the advantage gained, the match reverted to an even contest. Wallingford were denied by an excellent save from Ella Berthier before the break and were still in the contest.


Larkspur played some exciting football to delight their large group of supporters in the second half, whilst the equally vocal Oxfordshire brigade were in full cry whenever their team attacked, especially  down the right, which three times nearly brought the goal the team deserved from the performance.


Larkspur Rovers, based in the Northolt district of West London, are a well established football club catering for all ages with a thriving women and girls section as shown in their Cup triumph.


Finals Day 2024 was a great advert for the TVCWFL with two highly enjoyable matches, excellently organised at an outstanding venue with top class facilities.

Larkspur Rovers: Ella Berthier, Avril Clark, Dawn Clark, Shanice Dyer, Savana Fearon, Polina Avramova, Kalina Georgieva, Shani Minors, Jessica Workman, Calleigh Wright, Ellie Wright. Subs: Tineka Pink, Skye Winter, Charlotte Workman, Caitlin Buffery, Jennifer Armstrong.

Wallingford & Crowmarsh: Natalie McCowan, Alice Bennion, Charlotte Comley, Emma Hawkins, Sally Keogh, Eleonora La Gumina, Megan Osborne, Ellice Rourke, Paynton Silkstone, Edie Stilwell-Garrett, Heather Young. Subs: Grace Cockeram, Mollie Gallagher, Becky Roberts, Lola Gunn.

Photos by

To see a larger version of each photo,  position the cursor over the picture!

Back to home page