Women's Football News

Women's Football News, Print, Web and TV Media
Latest News Women's Football TV News Archive Search Get the Mag

Share page on Social Media:   f  Share     t     G+   find us on Twitter: @wssmagnews
Women's Football News

Women's Soccer Scene
Fara at the double
 Women's Football News 23 May 2009
Fara at the double - 23 May 2009 - Women's Football NewsFara Williams captured the two biggest individual prizes at the FA National Women's Football Awards in London.
The Everton and England midfielder became the first player to be named as Players' Player of the Year and International Player of the Year after an outstanding season for both club and country. The other two nominated players for the Players' Player award were Arsenal's Jayne Ludlow and Rachel Williams of Doncaster Rovers Belles.
Toni Duggan was named as Young Player of the Year to give Everton a clean sweep of the individual awards, beating off competition from Leeds Carnegie winger Jess Clarke and Sunderland starlet Jordan Nobbs.
The Manager of the Year award was presented to Mick Mulhern of Sunderland, the third season in a row that it went to a manager from outside the top flight, in recognition of hime leading his side to the Northern Division title and the F.A.Women's Cup Final.
The biggest ovation was reserved for outgoing Arsenal manager Vic Akers, who was honoured with the FA Special Achievement Award for his contribution to the women's game which has seen him guide the Gunners to an unprecedented 32 trophies which includes 11 Premier League titles, 10 F.A.Women's Cup wins and the UEFA Women's Cup - a record which is unlikely to ever be challenged. Arsenal were also recognised as Club of the Year for winning the domestic 'treble'.
The full list of award winners:
Tesco Players' Player of the Year Fara Williams (Everton)
Nationwide International Player of the Year Fara Williams
FA Young Player of the Year Toni Duggan (Everton)
Tesco Manager of the Year Mick Mulhern (Sunderland)
FA Special Achievement Award Vic Akers (Arsenal)
Tesco Club of the Year Arsenal
Umbro Top Goalscorer - National Division Kelly Smith (Arsenal)
Umbro Top Goalscorer - Northern Division Jodie Michalska (OOH Lincoln)
Umbro Top Goalscorer - Southern Division Sam Pittuck (West Ham Utd)
FA Club Media Award Leeds Carnegie
FA Club Marketing Award Nottingham Forest
FA Best Programme Award Keynsham Town
FA Fair Play Award Rotherham United
FA National Media Award The Guardian
FA Regional Media Award BBC Radio Leeds
FA Tesco Community Award Sport England

 back to TOP


Women's Soccer Scene Media ©
on mobile   wssNews.co.uk 



Womens Football TV
Latest wssTV  


Womens Football Magazine
Womens Football Magazine

Womens Soccer Secene Media

Safe For Kids

Discount Football Kits

Women's Football Advertising

Womens Football News send your story photos and video

Women's Football Advertising

News Archive <
News 2020-2021
News 2019-2020
News 2018-2019
News 2017-2018
News 2016-2017
News 2015-2016
News 2014-2015
News 2013-2014
News 2012-2013
News 2011-2012
Women's World Cup 2011
News 2010-2011
News 2009-2010
News 2008-2009
News 2007-2008
Women's World Cup 2007
News 2006-2007
News 2005-2006
News Euro 2005
News 2004-2005
News 2003-2004

Women's Sport Search
Women's Sport Search

Women's Football Advertising

Women's Football History


FA Womens Football Awards

BBC Sport Women's Football

Women's Football Advertising

Football Foundation


Total page reads:

© designed, created, hosted and managed by  WWW Support Services   (click for info)